Land transfer duty with a first-home exemption and a home-buyer concession, a three-business-day cooling-off on private sales, a Section 32 vendor statement, and tight price-guide rules with reserve disclosure on the way.
Five pages cover the rules that change at the border: what duty costs and who is exempt, what the cooling-off period gives you and what the seller has to disclose, which grants and schemes are open, what a price guide is allowed to say, and the buying process from the licence check to settlement. Every figure names the agency it came from and the date it was checked.
The VIC pages
VIC at a glance
Each line links to the page it comes from and to the agency source. A dagger (†) marks a fact taken from an official search result that is still to be confirmed on the agency's own page; open the source before relying on it.
Stamp duty
- What it's called
- Land transfer duty, which the SRO also calls land transfer (stamp) duty; charged on the dutiable value, usually the price paid or the market value if higher Source
- Official calculator
- SRO land transfer (stamp) duty calculator Source
- How the rate works
- Sliding scale: $2,870 plus 6% of the excess over $130,000 up to $960,000; 5.5% from $960,001 to $2,000,000; premium rate of $110,000 plus 6.5% over $2,000,000 Source
- When the bands change
- Not indexed each year: the current schedule applies to contracts entered into on or after 1 July 2021 and changes only when Parliament amends it Source
- First home, established
- Eligible first home buyers pay no duty to $600,000, a sliding-scale concession from $600,001 to $750,000 and full duty above $750,000 Source
- First home, new or off the plan
- Same thresholds as an established home; for an off-the-plan purchase the dutiable value after the off-the-plan concession cannot exceed $750,000 Source
- First home, vacant land
- Vacant land for a first home qualifies on the same thresholds; move in within 12 months of the occupancy certificate or 36 months of settlement, whichever is first Source
- Other concessions
- PPR concession of up to $3,100 for homes from $130,001 to $550,000; pensioner exemption to $600,000 and concession to $750,000; two off-the-plan concessions Source
- Home-buyer (PPR) concession
- Open to any buyer: a 1% rate cut from $130,001 to $440,000 and a $3,100 reduction from $440,001 to $550,000; move in within 12 months of settlement and stay a year Source
- Off the plan (standing)
- Construction costs incurred after the contract date come off the dutiable value; only with the PPR concession (to $550,000) or the first-home relief (to $750,000) Source
- Off the plan (temporary)
- Strata dwellings only; open to investors, companies and trusts with no home-buyer test; contracts from 21 October 2024 to 20 April 2027 after the 2026 extension Source
- Pensioner and concession cardholders
- Contracts from 1 July 2023: exemption to $600,000, concession from $600,001 to $750,000; once only, at market value, living in the home; a separate SRO calculator applies Source
Cooling-off and contracts
- Cooling-off period
- Three business days on a private sale of residential property, with exceptions; it begins when the buyer signs the contract, and to end the contract the buyer gives written notice to the seller or the seller's agent Source
- Cost of using it
- The buyer gets back everything paid less $100 or 0.2% of the price, whichever is greater Source
- When it does not apply
- Auction, or a sale within three clear business days either side of one; mainly commercial or industrial use; farmland over 20 ha; a repeat contract for the same property Source
- Waiving or shortening it
- Not stated here: whether the period can be waived or shortened, and the remaining exclusions in section 31 of the Sale of Land Act 1962 † Source
- What the seller must disclose
- A Section 32 vendor statement under the Sale of Land Act 1962: title, mortgages, covenants, easements, zoning and outgoings such as rates; not the buildings' condition Source
- Deposit
- Generally paid to the seller's agent when the offer is made or by the date in the contract of sale, and held by the seller's agent, conveyancer or legal practitioner in a trust account until settlement; no percentage was read on the pages Source
- Settlement
- Date fixed in the contract; settlement runs from 10 am to 4 pm unless agreed otherwise; the usual 30, 60 or 90-day periods are not confirmed here † Source
- If the Section 32 is wrong
- If the vendor statement is false, incorrect or insufficient the buyer may be able to withdraw from the sale or take legal action Source
Grants and schemes
- First Home Owner Grant
- $10,000 for eligible first home buyers of a new or never-occupied home valued up to $750,000; live in it 12 months, starting within 12 months of settlement or completion Source
- State schemes open
- The duty exemption and concession, the PPR concession and the grant; the state's shared-equity fund has closed and the federal Help to Buy has replaced it Source
- Closed or ended
- Victorian Homebuyer Fund (shared equity, up to 25% of the price, 35% for Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander buyers): closed to new applications on 10 September 2025 Source
- 5% Deposit Scheme
- Unlimited places, no income cap and higher price caps from 1 October 2025, the day the Home Guarantee Scheme was renamed the Australian Government 5% Deposit Scheme Source
- Help to Buy
- Open in Victoria; applications opened 5 December 2025; a government contribution of up to 40% of the price for a new home or 30% for an existing one Source
- 5% Deposit Scheme price cap
- The current Victorian cap is not stated here; the capital-city cap also applies to regional centres over 250,000 people Source
- Help to Buy caps
- Victorian price caps and income caps are not stated here † Source
- Regional First Home Owner Grant
- Listed by the SRO under closed taxes, levies and grants; the amount and closing date are not stated here Source
Auctions and price guides
- Price guides
- Since 1 May 2017 an agent may not quote below the seller's asking price, the reserve if known, or the agent's estimate; a Statement of Information lists comparable sales Source
- Underquoting
- More than $11,000 a breach, or penalties of almost $38,000 under the Estate Agents Act; up to $50m (corporations) or $2.5m (individuals) under the Australian Consumer Law Source
- Reforms in train
- Announced: the reserve must be published at least seven days before an auction or fixed-date sale, from 1 October (the year is not in the Premier's text), and an agent who does not comply cannot take the property to auction. The Consumer Legislation Amendment Act 2026 (No. 36/2026) passed in July 2026; whether it carries these provisions, and the name of the statement, were not confirmed † Source
- Vendor bids
- Only the auctioneer may make a vendor bid, on the seller's behalf; vendor bids are legal only if the displayed auction rules permit them, the arrangements must be set out in those rules and announced before the auction starts, and any other bid made for the seller is illegal Source
- Bidder registration
- No bidder-registration rule on Consumer Affairs Victoria's auction pages; what must happen is that the auction rules, the information statement and any additional conditions are available for inspection at least 30 minutes before the auction starts Source
- Cooling-off at auction
- None at auction, and none on a private sale made within three clear business days before or after a public auction Source
- Underquoting Taskforce
- Permanent arm of Consumer Affairs Victoria; in 2024-25: 1,647 complaints, 600 campaigns reviewed, 48 infringement notices, $564,300 in fines and 4 court proceedings Source
- Comparable property guidelines
- Consumer Affairs Victoria guidelines agents must follow when selecting the most comparable properties for the Statement of Information (release date not in the research) Source
The buying process
- Licence check
- Consumer Affairs Victoria public register of estate agents (licences issued by the Business Licensing Authority): licensee names, licence numbers and business locations Source
- Who can do the conveyancing
- A lawyer, or a conveyancer licensed by the Business Licensing Authority under the Conveyancers Act 2006, who may prepare transfers, mortgages and related documents Source
- Electronic settlement
- Digital-only lodgement with Land Use Victoria since 1 August 2019 (electronic-lodgement instruments from 1 October 2018); three electronic lodgement networks operate Source
- Complaints
- Consumer Affairs Victoria's estate agent complaint form; underquoting reports go to the Underquoting Taskforce through its dedicated webform Source
- Conveyancer register
- Consumer Affairs Victoria public register of licensed conveyancers Source
Who sets the rules in Victoria
- Revenue officeState Revenue Office Victorialand transfer duty, the first-home exemption and concession, the off-the-plan and pensioner concessions and the First Home Owner Grant
- Consumer regulatorConsumer Affairs Victoriaestate agents and conveyancers, the Statement of Information, underquoting, the cooling-off period, the Section 32 and complaints
- Licence registerConsumer Affairs Victoria public registersestate agent and conveyancer licence checks (the Business Licensing Authority issues the licences)
- LegislationVictorian legislationSale of Land Act 1962 (cooling-off, Section 32); Conveyancers Act 2006; Estate Agents Act 1980
- Land registryLand Use Victoriatitles and electronic lodgement
- Federal schemesHousing Australiathe 5% Deposit Scheme and Help to Buy
Sources
- State Revenue Office Victoria — checked 13 September 2026. Land transfer duty, the first-home exemption and concession, the off-the-plan and pensioner concessions and the First Home Owner Grant.
- Consumer Affairs Victoria — checked 13 September 2026. Estate agents and conveyancers, the Statement of Information, underquoting, the cooling-off period, the Section 32 and complaints.
- Consumer Affairs Victoria public registers — checked 13 September 2026. Estate agent and conveyancer licence checks (the Business Licensing Authority issues the licences).
- Victorian legislation — checked 13 September 2026. Sale of Land Act 1962 (cooling-off, Section 32); Conveyancers Act 2006; Estate Agents Act 1980.
- Land Use Victoria — checked 13 September 2026. Titles and electronic lodgement.
- Housing Australia — checked 13 September 2026. The 5% Deposit Scheme and Help to Buy.
Facts checked 13 September 2026 · draft, awaiting review.